I Love You, Momma.

Postive Affirmations for Momma

Toddler Muffins: A Recipe

Leave a comment

I admit that I obsess over the things my toddler eats, probably to an unhealthy extent, but I admit it! But I have my reasons. One of my pet peeves is adults who say “I never drink water.” or “I never eat vegetables.” I blame their parents. And maybe I just live in this disillusion but toddlers cant like what you don’t give them. I feed my toddler the way I do, because I don’t want a picky child. She’s never (and probably never will) had a chicken nugget, never had candy (cookies have been an exception) never had a popsicle. Unless any one of these things were hand made by myself, where I can completely control the ingredients, I would never even consider handing them to her. (part of the reason I’m not a big meat prepare-er, too many hormones for my comfort)

Why? Am I depriving her? Absolutely not. I feel like I am setting her up for an amazing future as an adult that will be able to eat healthy without a problem. How many New Years go by where people say, “I’m going to eat healthier” but fail, because they hate healthy food. They are so used to eating crap that it’s hard to actually like anything good for us (myself included). I’m lucky that both the women who prepared food for me growing up, were really big salad fans. My step mom made spinach salads every night in the summer (with poppy seed dressing, yum!) and my mother was the same way, preparing a salad for herself nearly every day at work. I don’t think I would like healthy food the way that I do if it weren’t for their influence.

And one day, my children are probably going to feel the same way I do. They are going to be confused why they love vegetables so much while everyone they know hates them.

So, I found this recipe on Pinterest, and I changed a little to make it vegan.

20140404-164642.jpg

 

TODDLER MUFFINS

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup brown sugar (or 1 cup coconut sugar + 1 heaping tbsp Blackstrap molasses)
  • ⅓ cup of plain or vanilla coconut yogurt
  • ⅓ cup unsweetened applesauce
  • ¼ cup Earth’s Balance margarine, softened
  • 3 flax eggs
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 cup finely shredded carrots (about 2 medium carrots)
  • 2-3 very ripe banana’s, smashed (the riper the better)
  • 1 cup quick oats
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2½ tsp cinnamon
  • ⅛ tsp nutmeg

Instructions:

1. Mise En Place, people! Preheat oven to 375, shred the carrots, make the flax eggs (1 tbsp of flax meal, 2 tbsp of water, per egg. Let set until gooey and egg-like)
2. Cream the sugar, applesauce, yogurt and “butter”3. Mix in “eggs”, pumpkin, carrot, and bananas.
4. Mix in the rest of the dry ingredients, oats, flour, salt, baking soda, and spices.
5. Grease your muffin tin, now! I find they slip right out after baking when the cooking spray is freshly sprayed on the pan. You could line with cupcake liners, but it’s not necessary.
6. Cook for 18-20 minutes.
7. Remove from pans, place on cooling rack and then allow yourself to enjoy the deliciousness.

 

Juliette is not a muffin eater, but she devoured these, score mom! These muffins are sweet, but not overly sweet. I used two bananas and if I make them again I’ll probably shoot for three to make them a little sweeter, although I really liked these. I ate two straight out of the oven, so that says something. They also are SUPER moist, which made me insanely happy because sometimes “healthy” muffins and cakes can be dry. Enjoy friends!

xo, Rhea

Author: iloveyoumomma

Momma of 2. Food, Babies, Beauty. I just want us all to be at peace.

Leave a Reply

